State Minister announces Best of Wine Tourism Awards nominees

Minister Tim Whetstone with Kalleske brother Troy, Tony and Kym at the family's winery operations on Tuesday highlight their nomination in this year's Best of Wines awards.
Minister Tim Whetstone with Kalleske brother Troy, Tony and Kym at the family's winery operations on Tuesday highlight their nomination in this year's Best of Wines awards.

A glass of organic and biodynamic Zinfandel in one hand, a fork engulfed with juicy certified steak in the other and views of vineyards passed through the hands of several generations has left one SA Minister satisfied he had visited the Barossa on Tuesday.

Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone was on his 105th state regional tour which involved promoting finalists in the South Australian Best of Wine Tourism Awards.

His schedule saw him wine and dine outside with the Kalleske brothers at their winery facility located on the outskirts of Greenock.

The working trio of seventh generation men Tony, Kym and Troy have led their sustainable winery to be named one of 22 finalists across six of the state's wine regions vying for the 2019 crown.

The Minister shared how he was keen to see for himself the family's set up, especially after the family was presented the award in 2017.

Tony Kalleske shared how the previous award and recent nomination represents their organic and biodynamic attention to their wine product and to the land, plus providing them world recognition.

Minister Whetstone was able to establish over a glass of wine, how each brother provides a unique element to the Kalleske business.

Eldest brother Tony, co-founder of Kalleske Wines, is sales and general business manager, youngest brother Troy, also a co-founder, is winemaker and middle brother Kym vineyard manager.

Each with sustainability methods and practices at the core of their work.

Minister Whetstone's tour included visits to Ahrens before heading to Kapunda to highlight their nomination in the SA Ag Town of the Year Award, and JT Johnsons.

"It is fantastic to see a diverse list of wineries, wine tourism experiences and wine regions throughout the state nominated as part of these awards," he shared.

"Twenty two wineries across the Adelaide Hills, Barossa, Langhorne Creek, McLaren Vale, Coonawarra and the Riverland have been recognised for their pursuit of excellence in promoting the South Australian wine experience."

The state has previously been well represented at the International Best of Wine Tourism Awards, with d'Arenberg at McLaren Vale winning the international award last year, while other South Australian winners on the international stage have included Seppeltsfield in 2016 and Penfolds Magill Estate in 2017.

The finalists are:

  • Accommodation - Beresford House (McLaren Vale), Lanzerac Country Estate (Barossa), Woodstock Wines (McLaren Vale).
  • Architecture and Landscape - Kimbolton (Langhorne Creek), Chapel Hill (McLaren Vale).
  • Art and Culture - Coriole Vineyards (McLaren Vale), Bird in Hand (Adelaide Hills).
  • Innovation - d'Arenberg (McLaren Vale), St Hugo (Barossa), Shaw and Smith (Adelaide Hills).
  • Sustainability - Kalleske Wines (Barossa), 919 Wines (Riverland), Gemtree Wines (McLaren Vale), Jacob's Creek (Barossa).
  • Restaurants - Hentley Farm Restaurant (Barossa), Hollick Estates (Coonawarra), Maxwell Wines (McLaren Vale), Mallee Estate Wines (Riverland).
  • Tourism Services - Elderton (Barossa), Penfolds Magill Estate (Adelaide Hills), Pindarie Wines (Barossa), Yalumba Family Winemakers (Barossa).

The winners will be announced next month and compete against nominees from nine other Great Wine Capitals in November 2019 at the international awards as part of the Great Wine Capitals Network Annual Conference in Bordeaux, France.

The Great Wine Capitals Best of Wine Tourism Awards celebrate innovation and excellence in wine tourism and provide an opportunity to gain exposure and recognition for their commitment to providing leading wine tourism experiences.

Further information is available at