Kapunda Golf report, July 2019

Photo: File
Photo: File

The week past once again provided some excellent fields in all competitions at Kapunda Golf Club.

The fillies kicked it off on Wednesday with 22 ladies teeing it up in a stableford round.

Past Captain Tine Perry followed up her good form from the previous week to win the day with 33 points.

It was just a one point win from a couple of out of towners, Roseanne Rule from Eudunda once and Jan Hoffmann from the B.V. Current Captain Gloria Potter was back on 31.

Thursday's field was in the mid thirties, again for a stableford round, and Terry Harris found some form to clean up with 38 points.

Graham Hill and Howie Jacques were a shot behind and they had a three shot buffer over the trio of Con Haagmans, Jim Menzel and Wayne Harvey, who is starting to find his way around the Kapunda course.

Saturday brought about the Total Earthworx Monthly Medal stroke round and a field of 70.

The weather held off and a pretty good day for golf prevailed although the scoring would indicate differently.

The eventual winner was decided by a countback and Dave Fidock pipped the skipper Eugene after both finished up on net 73.

Eugene won the A grade by a single shot from Wayne Morris, vice skipper Leigh Durdin and Ryan Allen, returning for a hit on his old stomping ground, who all had 74.

74 was also the leading score in the B grade and that was carded by Steven Watson.

Sal Hambour had 75 and the rest of the grade struggled.

John Conaghty also had 74 to lead home the C graders, again by a single shot over Wayne Harvey and Kym Mosey.

Thankfully the rain forecast for the Sunday came and went overnight on Saturday and the day was perfect for the annual J.T. Johnson 4 ball ambrose day which resulted in some funds raised for the Kapunda Homes.

The ladies did an excellent job with their snacks after the game and Pete Morrison and Lucy got the ball rolling in the morning with the bacon and egg sangas.

Thanks were extended to all of those who attended from out of the district and it was good to see some familiar faces returning to reacquaint themselves with the Kapunda course.

Fourteen teams presented for the ambrose format and there were some formidable teams on the park.

The winning score was a pretty handy 10 under, carded by a couple of teams, but it was the team of Holding, Holding, Lange and Pettigrew who had the best net score of 54 1/2.

Dick Nairn's team of champions were next in line.

The putters of all of the winning team seems to do the right thing at crucial times and as is the case on many occasions in an ambrose comp, sinking putts is the key to carding a good score.

Well done to all involved in organising the day with play progressing at a steady pace all day.

This Saturday is a stableford round and is the fourth round of the Diekman Memorial trophy.

Weather permitting, another great field is expected to make the most of a course in magnificent condition.