Tour Down Under stage shake-up

A visual point-to-point representation of the 2019 stage two Santos Tour Down Under race
A visual point-to-point representation of the 2019 stage two Santos Tour Down Under race

The 2019 Santos Tour Down Under will include a series of Barossa towns once again, continuing the region’s 20-year history with the event, officials announced on Wednesday. 

The Barossa race takes place during stage two and, with a finish in Angaston and no loops, is quite different from recent years’ routes. 

Stage two will set off in Norwood before quickly transitioning into an ascent towards Birdwood and Mount Pleasant.

A sudden left turn to Williamstown, followed by a hairpin turn back to Springton, will see the riders wind their way through into the Barossa. 

After entering Tanunda from the south, the riders will then take a ‘U-shape’ through Seppeltsfield, Grenock, Nuriootpa, and on to Angaston for the finish.

The race will take place on Wednesday, January 16, the second day of the men’s race. 

This route is a change from the previous three years which all had a race finish in Lyndoch, a town that is not included in next year’s race. 

Southern Barossa Association Simon Taylor, who organised many of the events at Lyndoch, said that while the decision to skip Lyndoch is disappointing, the association is looking forward to helping others prepare for the event. 

“We’ll help out where ever we can. We’re pleased that it’s still in the valley and the Barossa still has this opportunity,” Mr Taylor said. 

“Its been good for the last three years and we gradually built up our expertise.

“The support provided by the local community was fantastic.”

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director Mike Turtur said the stage route has traditionally favoured Aussie riders in the past.

“The finish will be fast, and Angaston seems to provide winning form for our Aussie riders with TDU four-time race winner, Simon Gerrans, winning the stage into Angaston twice, once in 2006 and then again in 2014, as well as Mark Renshaw, Allan Davis and Matt Goss all winning a stage into Angaston too.”

The full list of race days announced are as follows

Stage 1: North Adelaide to Port Adelaide, Tuesday 15 January

Stage 2: Norwood to Angaston, Wednesday 16 January

Stage 3: Lobethal to Uraidla, Thursday 17 January

Stage 4: Unley to Campbelltown, Friday 18 January

Stage 5: Glenelg to Strathalbyn, Saturday 19 January

Stage 6: McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill, Sunday 20 January

For more details visit