Barossa host Bridge Congress

“This year was the biggest and grandest Bridge event ever held in the Barossa,” according to Chris Brady.

Forty pairs played for honour and glory on Saturday in the 11th annual Bridge Barossa Congress.

In the afternoon final round, first were the sisters from Adelaide Joanne Bakas and Tassi Georgiadis.

They were followed by Andrew Hill and David Shilling, while third were Trevor Darling and Rita Jones from Wallaroo.

The B section was won by SA Bridge Federation secretary Angela Norris and Jeff Fallon, with second going toHelen Kite and Merilyn Paris also from Adelaide.

Max Jahn and Ann Matthews were clear winners in the C section.

Sunday was a cracking teams event (four players per team) with 24 tables or almost 100 players participating.

The winning team was John Zollo, Jarrad Dunbar (formerly of Whyalla), Justin Williams and Mike Doecke.

Second were Lori Smith, Therese Demarco, Mark Fairlamb and Tim O’Loughlin, while Alex Bremner, Milton Hart, Peter Teubner and Neil Welch were third.

These latter two teams shone against strong opposition from two much favoured teams of state players.

A fine effort was shown by Barossa players and sisters Halena Frick and Louisa Eggleton, with Heather Young and Kevin Jones to win “best country” team.

The event was held in the Tanunda Football Clubrooms and was very well directed by David Anderson.

Catering, included sumptuous luncheons organised by Trish Page and Jill Allanson with assistance from many club members.

Generous sponsors on the day were The Barossa Co-op and Seppeltsfield Winery.

“All in all a special bridge weekend in the Barossa with compliments all round for the event,” Mr Brady said.