Decade of support for Kapunda students | PHOTOS

On February 8, just over $30,000 in education grants and scholarships was made available to 19 former Kapunda High School students by the Kapunda High School Centenary Foundation at its 10th annual awards presentation.

Foundation secretary Anne Hornsey introduced chairman Barry Vogt who welcomed around 80 friends and family members.

Stuart MP Dan van Holst Pellekaan and a number of representatives of local organisations also attended, including members of Kapunda Rotary and Kapunda Community Thrift Shop.

Mr Vogt spoke of the achievements of students who had benefited from local grant money, along with the mentoring support to students by foundation members.

In the 10 years since the first awards were made, the KHSCF has facilitated over $164,000 in grant money to 68 former students.

“This year we welcome the Johnson family as a donor,” Mr Vogt said.

“The generosity of many such donors, over the past 10 years, has been outstanding and we appreciate their faith in the foundation and its work.

“Jim Bettison, our original significant donor, and his partner Helen James, would be very pleased that we have continued to go from success to success, encouraging young people from Kapunda High School to follow their dreams.”

Treasurer Clyde Hazel presented the Foundation Award to the 2017 Dux of Kapunda High School, Katie Christian, who spoke of the wonderful support she had received from the teachers and the members of the KHSCF and the Hazel Family for their generosity in providing the award.

Mr Hazel was also pleased to announce Katie Christian as the recipient of the 2018 Jim Bettison Scholarship which currently allocates $8000 to a student over a four-year period at $2000 per annum.

“Jim Bettison believed in encouraging young people to live their dreams and I am sure that Katie Christian will live up to this expectation,” he said.

“I shall always be grateful for the opportunities that I have had at Kapunda High School and the support I have received from the staff, and from all the people who are associated with the foundation who have made this award available,” Katie said.

Morghan Prior was announced as the Helen James Award winner, which consists of a $3000 grant made over two years.

Ms Masters praised Morghan’s commitment to her studies and involvement in the school.

Morghan thanked the Kapunda High School and the Centenary Foundation for their support to her and to the young people of the Kapunda district.

In her role as a selection panel member, Ms Masters announced the recipients of a number of education grants, and introduced each student as they were presented with their grants by Mr Vogt and board members Frank Ware, Anne Hornsey and Des Ellis from the Kapunda Community Thrift Shop.

The following students were awarded grants ranging in value from $500 to $1500: Molly Ellis, Callum Fox, Zoe Sinclair, Sharna Grant, Alec Wendt, Lauren Ruediger, Cameron Anderson, Taylor Jones, Logan McInernay, Danioel Wilsdon, Jaime Hayward, Amy-Beth Davies.

The three continuing Jim Bettison scholars, Ashleigh Ruediger, Elise Prior and Ben Weichert, were also presented with their 2018 grants of $2000 each.

The 2014 Scholar Kim Becker sent in a report and apology for not being able to attend the presentations.

Kim is now studying her Masters in Advanced Mathematics and is currently in Melbourne.

Another two students benefited from the support of the Ahrens Group – Molly Ellis and Callum Fox were recipients of the Ahrens Regional Educational Awards for 2018 which grants each student $2500 payable over two years.

Callum Fox has won a place at the University of South Australia to study for a Bachelor in Engineering (Mechatronics) Honours, and Molly Ellis will embark on a Bachelor in Design – Communication, also at Uni SA.

Previous recipients have been Daniel Wilsdon, Andrew Dempsey, Courtney Bell and Emily March.

Following the official part of the evening, those attending the ceremony took the opportunity to enjoy fellowship and refreshments provided by the members of the foundation committee and their partners.