Joint winners for Herald Medal

Angaston's Brayden Dalby and Barossa District's Craig Wilson were named joint winners of the Barossa Herald medal on Monday night.

Dalby and Wilson took out the reserves grade’s highest accolade, with 11 votes, just one ahead of Gawler Central’s Kyle Hummell (10).

It was an extremely close count, with Kapunda’s Christopher Smith and Nuriootpa’s Jackson Jaensch and Samuel Wigan only two votes behind the winners, in third place, on nine.

Wilson polled votes in just four occasions from the 15 matches he played this season – three of which were best on ground performances.

At round 10, Nuri’s Wigan (eight votes) topped the leaderboard with Dalby three behind – Wilson, who came to Barossa from Waikerie this season, was voteless until round 11.

“It’s a bit of a surprise, it’s my first year in the league,” Wilson said.

“I guess I just played consistently – that’s what it’s about, consistent footy.

“(The BLG) is good, it’s different footy to what I’m used to, there are a lot of in and under contests, in the Riverland it’s much for free-flowing.”

Meanwhile, Dalby was named best twice in his 12 games, claiming votes in five outings.

“(The medal) is good to have, I don’t know how I won it though,” Dalby said.

“It will be good to play in a grand final in a fortnight’s time – premierships are higher for me then the medal.”

Last year’s winner Gary Sullivan claimed just three votes in this year’s count, after playing just seven matches.

Meanwhile, Angaston’s Dylan Tuckwell won the Central District Football Club medal, four votes ahead of Tanunda’s Fraser Smith – he also won the Senior Colt of the Year award.

Tuckwell (20 votes) polled votes in nine matches – producing best on ground performances in no less than five outings.

He led by just one vote in round 10, but polled in four of the remaining matches, including two bests to cruise home.

In the junior colts, Tanunda’s Liam Ellis claimed the Des Shanahan medal with a massive 33 votes, six ahead of Nuriootpa’s Jordan Tippins and Samuel Falland, the under 15s leading goal kicker.

Ellis polled votes in 12 of his 15 matches this season – named best afield an incredible nine times – also claiming the Most Consistent Player award.

He trailed by two votes behind Tippins by round 10, but polled in five of the remaining matches to come home strong.

Other awards

There was no surprise when Josh Trembath’s name was called out as the A grade leading goal kicker.

The star Magpies recruit has slotted 68 goals this season, 16 ahead of second placed Chad Connolly, from the Lions.

Trembath kicked more than 10 goals on three occasions, including two 11-goal hauls.

Other leading goal kickers were Kapunda’s Wes Farley (41) for the reserves and Tanunda’s Thomas Falkenberg (63) for the senior colts.

BLG umpiring veteran Jim Goode was awarded the Golden Whistle award, while Barossa District was named Champion Club.

Rookie of the Year was presented to Kapunda’s pocket rocket Tyrell Hocking and South Gawler’s Anthony Connolly was named the Junior Coach of the Year.

Team of the Year

Forward: Joshua Trembath (Tan), Chad Connolly (SG), Jackson Press (SG)

Half Forward: Alan Obst (BD), Darren Shillabeer (BD), Domenico Costanzo (Kap)

Centre: Brodhi Carracher (Kap), Charlie Molyneux (GC) (C), Leigh Westhoff (Tan)

Half Back: Cameron Matters (Kap), Corey Solly (GC), Nathan Casboult (BD)

Back: Peter Dempsey (Kap), Brae McConnell (BD), Aisea Raikiwasa (Nuri)

1st Ruck: Adam Cockshell (Free), Tylah Saunders (Ang), Joshua Hand (Free)

Interchange: Todd Miles (BD) (VC), Tyrell Hocking (Kap), Ashley Fry (Will), Scott Dutschke (Free)